Back to news
  • Home /
  • news /

Leopard Creek’s ‘Big 5’ champions are back

The Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek Country Club will have its own ‘Big 5’ in the field this year as five former champions return for the prestigious event from November 26-29.

Defending champion Pablo Larrazábal of Spain returns following his dramatic 2019 victory in which he battled the intense heat and blisters and birdied the treacherous 18th to win.

He will be joined by South African Brandon Stone, who won the 2016 title in what was a breakthrough season for him in which he also won the South African Open to launch his European Tour career.

Richard Sterne returns as the 2008 champion and also the runner-up in 2016. A victory for him would make him only the third player after Charl Schwartzel and Pablo Martin to have won the Alfred Dunhill Championship multiple times.

Alvaro Quiros is back as the 2006 champion and as also the third Spaniard to have won this title alongside Larrazábal and Martin.

Germany’s Marcel Siem returns to Leopard Creek as the 2004 winner, following what is still the longest play-off in the history of the tournament, as he battled for three extra holes against the French duo of Gregory Havret and Raphael Jacquelin.

This year’s Alfred Dunhill Championship boasts the biggest purse on the Sunshine Tour of R29 million (€1.5 million approx), with a first prize of R4,579,120 (€238,000 approx).