The Alfred Dunhill Championship in Numbers

Held at the spectacular Leopard Creek Country Club, just south of the Kruger National Park in Malalane, Mpumalanga, the Alfred Dunhill Championship has produced some memorable moments over the years.

Here we take a look at the history of the tournament through some of the numbers that matter:

15 different names have been crowned Alfred Dunhill Championship winners in the 19 tournaments to date.

2 players have won the tournament on more than one occasion. Spaniard Pablo Martin registered back-to-back triumphs in 2009 and 2010, while South African Charl Schwartzel has come out on top no less than four times, first winning in December 2004 and then taking the title in 2012, 2013 and 2015.

264 is the tournament record score which is held by Schwartzel himself. He also boasts the biggest margin of victory in the history of the tournament, winning by 12 shots in 2012.

4 Major winners have also won the Alfred Dunhill Championship. Schwartzel and Australian Adam Scott have both added The Masters to their successes at Leopard Creek. The 2002 Champion Justin Rose has gone on to amass several titles, including the 2013 US Open. The most decorated of all Alfred Dunhill Championship winners is local favourite Ernie Els. The Big Easy has four Majors to his name, winning both the US Open and Open Championship and two occasions.

6 South Africans have won the Alfred Dunhill Championship, with Richard Sterne, Garth Mulroy, Branden Grace and Brandon Stone joining fellow countrymen Schwartzel and Els in lifting the iconic Leopard trophy.

1 player has won both the Alfred Dunhill Championship and its sister event, the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship. That man is Branden Grace.

3 times has the Alfred Dunhill Championship been decided by a play-off, while a further five tournaments have been won by just a single stroke.

7,287 is the total distance in yards of the Leopard Creek Country Club course. By way of comparison, the Old Course at St Andrews, home of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship, is almost exactly the same distance, at 7,305 yards.

3 holes-in-one were recorded in the 2012 tournament and all of them on the same par-three 12th hole. South African Keith Horne claimed two aces in successive days, using the same club – an eight iron. And in the final round that year, Magnus Carlsson pulled off the third hole-in-one.

100 Garth Mulroy’s triumph in the 2011 Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek made him the 100th South African to win in European Tour history.

14 is the number of months it took for South African sculptor Dylan Lewis to cast all 18 of the bronze leopards that adorn each tee at Leopard Creek.